I think that one of the most important things in life today, is to look after yourself, and not in the “im so much better than you, im only going to look after myself” kind of way, but in the “i need to stop worrying about everyone elses problems and concentrate on making myself happy” kind of way.

Its easy to get caught up on making the people in your circle happy, but it can sometimes risk your own happiness. I have a friend who shall remain nameless for this excercise that always puts others before themselves to the detriment of their own self happiness. There have been times when they have come to me asking why they feel so down, and my response is “its because you aren’t looking after yourself”.

Its all well and good, to make sure that everyone else is happy, laughing, in love and just plain enjoying life, but what about you? Dont you deserve to be just as happy and in love as everyone else?

I think alot of people think negativly of the phrase “acting selfishly” but I believe that is a good side to it as well. Sometimes you just have to put aside everyone elses issues, demands and problems to just go “hey, Im important too you know, its high time I took some me time!’

So today dear readers, take some time just for you. Take the phone off the hook, turn the music up loud, sing at the top of your lungs and just relish in the fact that its a new day where you are the most important thing in it.

Love V
xx

