Last night I was fortunate enough to be given two tickets by My Catwalk.com to the Vogue Runway show at L’Oreal Melbourne Fashion Festival. What a show! Wonderful designers Arnsdorf, Romance Was Born, Gary Bigeni, Antipodium, Ellery, Dion Lee, Frederich Gray and Therese Rawsthorne presented their A/W 10 looks for the sold out crowd. Even though the looks have been plastered all over the media for the last few months (think draping, nudes and naturals, 80’s working woman and futuristic) it was still a rush to see them paraded on the catwalk.

The crowd was another story all together… my friend Kassy summed it up perfectly “what’s with all the people dressing the same? I feel like I should be wearing puffy sleeves and mismatched clothes!” Fashion today seems to be less and less about making a statement and all about fitting in. Nothing is Ironic anymore. No one dresses for themselves. Even the girls that should definitely have not worn puffy sleeves and body con skirts turned up in them. It felt like I was walking into a party where there was a dress theme and I obviously wasn’t told!

Here’s some of my favourite looks from the show:

Images L-R
1. Antipodium, Frederich Gray
2. Ellery
3. Gary Bigeni, Therese Rawsthorne

I can definetely see myself wearing the red sequined silk dress from Ellery as well as the drop hem dress from Antipodium.

Im looking forward to seeing what these designers have in store for their new collections, see what direction they go in next.

Love V
xx

Images by Lucas Dawson via LMFF

