I love coffee. Yes, Love. I’m sure I’m not the only person out there that has a relationship with their barista. They start making my order as soon as I walk through the door and preferential treatment (read: get my coffee before the waiting hordes) happens more often than not. Now I must admit to being a one coffee a day kinda gal, otherwise, you’ll find me bouncing off the walls and not being able to sit still let alone get any work done. Sometimes coffee will even do the opposite of what it’s supposed to do (keep me awake) and put me fast to sleep. Must be the warm milk….
Now Melbourne isn’t short of a good coffee shop and barista is an occupation, where should you be good, gets you the ripest jobs at the best cafes. Here are my tips for the best long black you’ve ever tasted (milk optional).

1. Dukes Coffee Roasters  169 Chapel Street Windsor
– My preferred weekend haunt. Single Origin Drip Coffee that they roast on site and the best scrambled eggs this side of the Yarra. Tip: Get in early for a table it’s busy on the weekends!

2. St Edmonds 154 Greville Street, Prahran
– Again on the south side of the city. This is the place to go if you want a delicious latte with a side of eye candy. Hipster Central and a wicked soundtrack to boot. Oh and the meals here have a slight eastern element (think harissa spiced mushrooms. YUM!)

3. Mr Close  Shop 13, Midtown Plaza, 246 Bourke St Melbourne, (Enter from Swanston St)
– My weekday cup of joe. Want a delicious piping hot single origin skinny latte to go? Then Mr Close is the place to go. Also helps that they have a loyalty card and a large size is only $4.50. What about something to eat with that coffee? Then try the salted caramel slice. My favourite!

4. De Clieu 187 Gertrude Street Fitzroy
– My north of the city special. Yes it can be busy on the weekend, but they serve 7 seeds coffee and have delicious, if not a little left of centre food in a minimalist setting with huge windows. I always head here when on Gertrude Street.

Well there you have it, my 4 favourite coffee spots in Melbourne. If you have one that you want to share, comment below!

