I have found over the last couple of weeks, that the closer I get to moving, the more I’m thinking about family, friends and loved ones. It’s not because I’m never going to see them again, it’s more because of the fact that the dynamic between us will change slightly with me being on the other side of the world. Instead of calling me every day to talk about options for a new winter jacket, or fabric for a piece of a collection, one of my sisters is going to have to get used to sending emails and setting up Skype dates. And my mum, instead of calling her when Im walking home from work, or about to go to bed or even just because I can’t remember what ingredients need to go into her spaghetti bolognase, Im going to need to be a little more organised – especially with the time difference.

It’s a little overwhelming, but I know I can handle it. I have moved across the country and 6 years flew by in a swirl of laughter, tears and triumphs. Yes, it will be difficult at first, but friends make it easier and Im so glad that I have a few in London (and Im sure a lot more to make!) but now it’s time for the next adventure. I have been craving this for months if not years and it’s time to succumb, to be thankful for the wonderful people I have in my life that make this move what it is. Thankful that I can have times when I might be feeling homesick that I have family and friends that I care about that much and who care about me if not more and that in these times, I know that it’s part of the process of the adventure, of moving out of my comfort zone. And I’m thankful for that.

Image from This Is Glamorous

