London, day one. It all started with a torturous few moments at the Etihad check in desk whereby the check in clerk, managed to make me cry. So far not my proudest moment. I had been good all day, then the bombshell.My bags were too heavy. Duh. I could have told them that. What I couldn’t tell though was that I couldn’t take my carry on bag because “madame, your ‘handbag’, is too big to be a handbag, you can only take one bag on board and it must be 7kg.” And I crumbled. Literally became hysterical at the check in desk. It didn’t occur to me that I could probably do without some of the things in my bag, all I could think about is that those things they just dismissed were my only connection to home.

But then I was up in the air…. and then I was down again.

From the moment I stepped off the plane, I knew that this was going to be an adventure I wouldn’t dare forget. My bags were heavy, but I was full of adrenalin and I felt invincible. Then jet lag made his first appearance. And my God, what an appearance it was. Again, with the crumbling. But what I came to realise once I had taken a shower and spoken to my mum, was that I was in London. A dream that I had held onto for 20 years, and wasn’t really sure If I would ever fulfill. Not because, I didn’t have the means, but because, I had such high expectations, that I wasn’t really sure if what I had dreamed, could actually become a reality. But it could. And here I was. So I picked myself up, put on a brave face and went out into the world….

For “Welcome to London” mojitos with a friend. And what a welcome it was.

